VISUAL + PERFORMING ARTS DEPARTMENT University of Colorado Colorado Springs



THE LOUIS M. CICOTELLO AWARD IN THE VISUAL ARTS \$1,000

Eligibility:

VAPA student graduating with a concentration in visual art during Academic Year 2020/2021



Submit in one single pdf file:

- I. Completed application
- 2. UCCS transcript (can be unofficial)
- 3. Image portfolio (between seven and ten images)
- 4. Image list

Due: Submissions accepted starting April 1,2021. Deadline for all submissions is 11:59 pm May 1, 2021. Please submit completed pdf to Michaela Steen at msteen2@uccs.edu by the deadline. For general information about the award or application process contact Corey Drieth at cdrieth@uccs.edu.

Recognition: After the selection committee makes its decision, it will invite the awardee to the LAS Award Ceremony, usually held in late April.

Name:		
Address:		
City:	State:	_Zip:
Telephone:	E-Mail:	
Overall GPA:	GPA in Major Field(s): _	

* * Image Portfolio Requirements * *

- I. Images should be JPEG files at no less than 72 dpi
- 2. Videos uploaded to Vimeo or YouTube with link included in image list
- 3. All images should be numbered to correspond with image list (list format: title, medium, dimensions, and date)
- 4. Include no other information in pdf besides application material



The Louis M. Cicotello Award

Louis Cicotello believed that artists provide the creative foundation for the cultural vitality of a community. This award has been established in his name to recognize the accomplishments of a VAPA student graduating with a concentration in visual art during Academic Year 2020/2021.

I. Reasons for choosing a concentration in visual arts. [maximum 250 words]

2. Artist statement addressing and describing creative works submitted. [maximum 500 words]

3. How do you see your art practice contributing to the creative vitality of a community? [maximum 500 words]

The Departmental Selection Committee is comprised of the chair of the Visual & Performing Arts Department, co-director of the Visual Art Program, and Millie Yawn. The selection committee will rely on the following criteria when determining the award recipient:

- I. Creative and inventive use of form
- 2. Conceptual innovation
- 3. Personal, cultural, and/or social relevance

